chickpea flour omelet (pancake)

This is by far one of my top 3 breakfast dishes to make! The texture and consistency is very similar to a real omelet (unless you dilute it a little more to make a thinner pancake) and it is very satisfying/will keep you full for a few hours. I started to notice once I took a hiatus from eating eggs and ate them on a hasty whim while on spring break I was immediately hungry an hour or so later, which I also believe used to happen to me in the past but I accepted it as I was exercising more and was not so conscious of all that I was eating. The chickpea flour pancake can be scrambled, portioned out into sand-dollar sized pancakes, or made into a large pancake/omelet. I have always had problem flipping the larger sized pancakes so I generally make it into a scramble.

Chickpea flour is super cheap (less than $3!) and can also be used as an egg replacer in various dishes (which I have yet to try). 1/4 cup of chickpea flour + 1/4 cup of liquid (either water or non-dairy milk)=1 egg! You can also use it to make tofu, which I will probably also be posting on this blog later!

Recipe for Chickpea Flour Omelet ( Adapted from Oh She Glows)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chickpea flour
  • 1/4 cup of  each of the veggies you would like, as if for making it an omelet (I did tomatoes, white onions, a little poblano pepper, and green pepper)
  • 2 cloves of garlic diced, or you can use a 1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • Optional: 1/4 teaspoon cajun seasoning
  • 1/8-1/4 teaspoon baking powder (use less if you want your pancakes flatter, use more if you want them more fluffy)
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons of water
  • Olive oil for cooking
  • Hummus, tahini, guacamole, hot sauce, etc for sides!

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in large pan and sauté vegetables and garlic until tender.
  2. Mix together chickpea flour, spices, baking powder, and water and whisk until smooth.
  3. Add batter to vegetables and cook until no longer moist and slightly brown, roughly 5-6 minutes. If you are able to flip your large or smaller pancakes do so until both sides are cooked. Otherwise you can scramble the batter and cook it to your satisfaction.
  4. Serve with any topping of your choice. I usually use avocado and hot sauce :p

 

 

Leave a Reply

