sweet potato chana: a sweet twist on a classic dish

Last night my eyes were definitely bigger than my stomach and while noshing on some baba ghanoush I eagerly searched for a chana masala recipe, which I ended up only having a small serving of because I got full so quickly, leaving me with plenty of leftovers šŸ˜‰ One of my new favorite recipe blogs is Vegan Richa, and I knew there would be a chana masala recipe there, which I successfully found, but also incorporated sweet potato! I have recently Ā been adding sweet potato to a lot of my dishes and was happy to add it to one of my favorite meals as I knew it would be tender and sweet, matching the creamy and spicy curried chickpeas and veggies. This dish is best served over rice and/or with naan or pita bread, and is very filling and light.

Sweet Potato Chana Recipe (Recipe adapted from Vegan Richa):

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon of oil
  • 1 tsp of cumin seeds or cumin
  • 3/4 cup of onion, chopped small
  • 3 cloves of garlic,Ā minced
  • Optional: 1/2 of a jalapeƱo, chopped small
  • 1 teaspoon of coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder (and if you’re adventurous another 1/2 teaspoon of cajun seasoning)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon (this complements the sweet potato nicely)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne pepper, or more if you wish
  • 1/4 teaspoon of black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1-15 oz can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 1/2 cup of sweet potato, choppedĀ into bite size cubes
  • 1 cup of kale or spinach, I used kale
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Heat oil in skillet over medium heat and add cumin, garlic and onions (and jalapeƱo) until transparent and fragrant.
  2. Add spices and tomato, mixing well, and cook until tomatoes are mushy, about 4-5 minutes.
  3. Add chickpeas and sweet potato, adding more spices as you see fit, and mix, cover and cook for fifteen minutes until all veggies are tender. Add kale/spinach at the end andĀ cook until soft, a few minutes.
  4. Serve with rice and naan/pita!

13241639_10153743618516379_323971418_o

13241542_10153743618601379_1900168382_o

Leave a Reply

