jalapeño jummus (hummus)

 

 

It has been almost a week since I graduated from college and I am still trying to figure out what I am doing for the summer/the fall. I am waiting to hear back about my admission into the Food Corps for the fall (wish me luck!) but in the mean time I have been studying for the GRE, playing with my new kitty, Miko, and inevitably looking for new and exciting vegan recipes I can make to satisfy tastebuds and my nutrition knowledge.

Today my boyfriend, Cam, who still indulges in a non-vegan diet but also has a growing palate for new and healthy foods, and I were craving something spicy. As a result, I found a spicy quesadilla recipe that caught my eye, substituting a jalapeño hummus for cheese. Jalapeño peppers have become a favorite of mine once I discovered my obsession with spicy food during the past few years.

These tiny peppers are packed with Vitamin C, an antioxidant that protects your cells from damage and Vitamin A, beneficial for skin and eyes. Similar to other hot peppers, Jalapeños contain capsaicin, which acts as a vasodilator and anti-inflammatory, and promotes anti-cancer activity and even weight-loss, via thermogenic and appetite-reducing features.

I love to add jalapeños to any dish I make for a little kick, and most recently accidentally experimented with cooking with jalapeño infused cooking oil when making churros, which added a surprising spicy element to a classic Mexican fried dough treat (vegan recipe to come soon!) Today, however, I made some jalapeño hummus, oil-free, to complement a combination of roasted veggies and a healthy serving of guacamole in a tortilla to make a delicious quesadilla.

13214675_10153737073876379_1840109070_o

Recipe for Jalapeño Hummus Quesadillas with Roasted Veggies (adaptation from Spicy Mexican Hummus Quesadillas from Veganosity):

Serves 4

Ingredients for Hummus:

  • 1 15 ounce can of chickpeas – drained and rinsed well
  • 2 cloves of garlic – chopped small
  • 1 jalapeño pepper – seeded
  • 1 tablespoon of chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1 teaspoon of finely ground sea salt
  • ¼ cup of seeded and chopped tomato-chopped small
  • ½ cup of water

Remaining Ingredients for Quesadilla:

  • Tortilla wraps
  • Guacamole
  • Olive oil
  • Salsa
  • 1/4 cup of each of your choice of veggies ( we used to sweet potatoes, red onion, green peppers, carrots, zucchini, corn) chopped small
  • Spinach (optional)
  • Cheese/Vegan Cheese (optional)
  • 1.5 teaspoons of oregano
  • 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • Dash of salt
  • Dash of black pepper

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Combine all ingredients for hummus in food processor until creamy and set aside.
  3. On a a non-stick baking tray place chopped veggies. Drizzle lightly in olive oil and sprinkle the oregano, cayenne pepper, salt and black pepper. Bake for 10-15 minutes until veggies are tender to your liking.
  4. On a tortilla, smear hummus and guacamole and add enough veggies to your liking. Cook quesadilla on a pan with light oil or panini press until crispy.

Enjoy!! 🙂13230838_10153737074096379_684475436_o

Happy lil Miko, can you tell I’m obsessed with her.

Leave a Reply

